Absence makes the plants grow greener

I had to take a hiatus from gardening due to travel and, I must admit, sheer heartache from seeing some of my plants undergo transplant shock. Turns out this break did us all some good (it also helped that the community garden has automatic sprinklers, which allowed me to leave the garden unattended). The leafy green plants that appeared to be suffering without protection had bounced back.

Bok choy and Speckled Lettuce
P1030968

Another view of the bok choy
P1030977
Russian Red Kale
P1030971

Other crops that appeared unresponsive to any previous TLC have flourished.

Early Snowball Cauliflower
P1030978

Mammoth Red Rock Cabbage
P1030980

Some root crops look ready for harvest.

Radishes
P1030982

I should thin out the greens of these Detroit Dark Red Beets soon.
P1030976

And finally, my peppers, eggplants, and large tomatoes have sprouted. This required coaxing via the combined warmth and humidity from both the heating mat and grow lights. I sowed the rest of the summer seeds: beans, corn, cucumbers, melons, and squash. I heard from some fellow gardeners that peas can still be started at this time, so I figured I’d give these another go.

Leave a Reply

