Outdoor compost harvest

It’s been a year and a half since I started my outdoor compost bin and I wanted to see what I could collect.

IMG_20170704_064923

So I made a compost sifter out of materials I had on hand: a Rubbermaid lid and 1/4 in hardware cloth.

IMG_20170605_201950

I cut out a rectangular opening in the Rubbermaid lid, drilled a hole in each corner and secured hardware cloth (cut to size) with zip ties. Fasten this onto a Rubbermaid bin, shovel some compost and sift.

IMG_20170704_065001

IMG_20170704_065026

Happy to have this new supply of homemade compost!

Leave a Reply

